Home > Politics, Random > The Malaysian Politics Emmy

The Malaysian Politics Emmy

New blogger Huzir Sulaiman blogged about Malaysian Political Oscars, an Anonymous spread the results of Malaysian Golden Horse award in the blogosphere, and the 60th primetime emmy just concluded not long ago…

Which makes me kind of want to join in the game of making awards… šŸ˜‰

Here is the nomination list…

Best Drama series:

  1. 916 – Frogs
    PKR TV
    Producer: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim & PKR studios
    Director: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim
    Stars: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (Lead actor), Datuk Seri Wan Azizah (Supporting actress), Tian Chua, Lim Kit Siang, Hadi Awang (Supporting actor)
    Remarks: Debuted in PKR TV since March 9th, this series has created endless controversy and hence dominating viewership. The viewership started to decrease only after the critical September 16th. The series has since shifted from daily episodes to weekly episodes due to the dampening viewership. The director cum producer cum actor refused to disclose when will this season end…
  2. ISA – Returns
    Producer: Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar & Malaysia Government Production
    Director: Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar
    Stars: Datuk Seri Syed Hamid Albar (Lead actor), Raja Petra Kamarudin (Lead actor), Teresa Kok (Lead actress), Tan Hoon Cheng (Supporting actress), HINDRAF 5 & Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi (Supporting actors)
    Remarks: Drama series ISA is one of the longest running TV series in Malaysia. It debuted in 1948, even before Malaysia gains its independence. The TV series, though long running, scored only few Emmy nominations, such as ISA – Ops Lallang and ISA – The Anwar gate. This season, the subtitled “Returns” TV series scored tremendously well in Mid September, generating hype that almost outshadowed the hugely popular “916” series. The series even managed to attract a huge amount of older female viewers, who are particularly interested in the episodes that feature the art of cooking eggs. “The series was never this interesting and I think the (new) producer understand that diversification is the key to success”, an anonymous auntie commented.
  3. The past and the present – Polling and campaigns
    DUMB (Daily UMno Broadcast)
    Producer: Tun Dr Mahathir & The twenty two years studio
    Director: Tun Dr Mahathir
    Stars: Tun Dr Mahathir (Lead actor), Datuk Seri Abdullah Badawi, Mukhirz Mahathir, Khairy Jamaluddin, Tunku Razaleigh Hamzah (Supporting actor), Tan Sri Rafidah Aziz (Supporting actress)
    Remarks: This series has never slipped down from top 3 viewership ever since its debut back in year 2005, and this year’s is no exception. While the director and lead actor’s popularity certainly fueled the series’ success, the outstanding performance by Abdullah Badawi and Khairy Jamaluddin also helped the series to obtain 3 best drama series nominations (TPTP – AP, TPTP – Our sons and TPTP – Surgical knife and keris) in the past. This year, the series featuring mainly the election helped increased the average viewership by 5%. The supporting actors Tunku Razaleigh Hamzah & Muhyiddin Yasin who were new in the series have been gaining much fame.
  4. The Mongolian spirits – 24 Hours
    Producer: Undisclosed
    Director: Undisclosed
    Stars: Altatunya (Lead actress), P. Balasubramaniam, Raja Petra Kamarudin, Datuk Seri Najib (Supporting actor), Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor (Supporting actress)
    Remarks: This is one of the most successful horror genre drama series. In fact, there are very few horror genre drama series out there, even fewer successful one. “The missing kids” for example, while attracted commendable audience, was unable to create huge impact. TMS on the other hand, scored the second drama series nomination this year. This year, TMS simulated the critically acclaimed foreign TV series “24” by focusing on the 24 hours, one per episode, after the first public confession of the private investigator P. Balasubramaniam.

Writing this is so time-consuming, LOL. Just for fun OK? Don’t ISA me.

Categories: Politics, Random
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: