Home > Politics > Pak Lah plus the KL sovereignty

Pak Lah plus the KL sovereignty

Warning: Long and political post. Ms Lim please don’t read 😛  I’m sorry I can’t control myself.

1. Goodbye Pak Lah. I guess most Malaysians would have say this deep in their heart. He was the one that brought some hope to install freedom, democracy and integrity into our country. When he first sworn into power, the country was enthusiastic about the change that he could and he promised to bring. Even YB from Batu Gajah Ms. Fong Po Kuan said so in her blog.

He was known as “Mr Nice Guy” and he won over 90% of the votes in 2004 General Election. I did write about him giving me some hope for a better Malaysia for all Malaysian, when he delivered his first speech as the successor of Tun Mahathir in Parliament. It was in year 2003.

2. The writer for his first speech as Prime Minister was brilliant I guess. He asked us to “work with me, not work for me”. He told us that he wanted to “listen to the truth”.

3. Back in even 2006, I still believe he could bring the country to the better direction, despite the fact that the corruption perception index continued to stumble, the press freedom index wasn’t magnificent, the oil price continued to soar, the economic growth rate was impressive but rakyat found that they have less and less money on hand…

4. So many things happened in 2007 and 2008, Pak Lah proved that he was just a puppet of someone else. His 2004 election manifesto wasn’t fulfilled at all, he continued to stay “I don’t know” aka the elegant silence, and found sleeping in many occasions… Malaysia Today was and still is very inspiring and exposed lots and lots of problems in Pak Lah’s government, but well, the editor was under dentention of that ISA now.

5. I remember I was in my friend’s house, celebrating the huge opposition success in the 12th General Election. I remember telling the horrified uncles and aunties that “Selangor also won by oppositions leh!”. I remember MalaysiaKini was alleged that Pak Lah was only winning 1000 odd votes while the counting progressing. I remember hoping that Pak Lah would be voted off.

6. Pak Lah, you may be a nice guy. You’d after all tolerated the success of Pakatan Rakyat, hence “enhancing” the democracy process of the country. Well, maybe that’s because you were really nice, or maybe because you got no idea and power to do something harmful. Evil exists because Good man does nothing, the party boss of my MP said so.

7. I will not forget the private jets, the fancy yacht and etc that you obtained through who-know-whose-fund-was-that. I will not forget that you didn’t care about the great flood in Southern and went opening Nasi Kandar in Perth.

8. Goodbye my Prime Minister Abdullah “flip-flop” Badawi, even though I’m not gonna like that Najib “I-don’t-know-that-woman and I-want-chinese-blood-on-this-keris” Razak, it is important that the country need to get rid of unfit leaders.

9. I only hope that you walk your talk, and manage to bring in the much-needed reform, namely Judiciary, Anti-corruption and Press Freedom, that you pledged today. But people are wondering, if 90% of control in parliament + 66% of popular vote could not help you in reforming, what would 64% house control and 52% popular vote do…

10. Anyway, that Selangor ADUN from Kampung Tunku seemed to kind of replied my comment over constitutionality. Let me shiok sendiri a while OK? 😛

11. I’m not law expert. Heck, I’m a biologist, not even taken a module about law to start with. I learned about my country’s constitution through web search, and the version available on net is not up-to-date anyway…

The House of Representatives shall consist of one hundred and eighty elected members.

12. Anyway, the YB commented that constitution can be changed. Yeah I agreed, except to erase every single “Federal territory” phrase in the constitution should be quite an interesting task to the Attorney General.

13. My point was, to change the federal constitution of Malaysia requires 2/3 of the house of representatives aka Dewan Rakyat to vote “Aye” on the constitution amendment. The Pakatan Rakyat controlled only 36% of the house, with DAP only about 13%. How could such an idea be passed through in the house? Well, it’s not impossible under the umbrella of bipartisanship. If the 11 members of parliament in KL, together with 22 members of parliament from Selangor stand together, the house will definitely need to consider such option because the interested parties agreed to do so! It is especially so for the KL MPs.

14. Now the YB is a state assemblyman from Selangor. In legislative level, he got no voting power or negotiation power in Federal parliament. Heck, he can’t even join or form a caucus in federal parliament. In party level, he isn’t a CEC member who oversees the national issue. He isn’t a member of DAP FT (Kuala Lumpur), who can then claim to be the core of affected party. Is he a KL voter? Or a KL-ite? I don’t know.

15. I don’t know how would this link to him “offering” the KL people a “seat” in Selangor state government. I don’t know how could he speak out the interest of KL people…

16. I always complain about KL people having one less vote. I always complain that KL despite an opposition territory, is still under control of that filthy Blue Nazis. I mean not just me, the MPs said so too. But why the KL MPs weren’t so “clever” all this while to have suggested for KL to be returned to Selangor? The KL MPs, which included my MP I voted for, want a mayoral and councillorship election in KL! They want the KL local election that was terminated since 1963 to be brought back! None of them ever suggested to have KL going back to Selangor, because they know the difference between a constitution and a local government act 1976!

17. I don’t know, but it seems the KL is under direct supervision in the name of Yang Di-Pertuan Agong, is he challenging the King? I don’t know, law expert is welcomed. Anyway, I prefer KL to be declared a state, very much like ACT in Australia, I can then happily vote for my ADUN (MSLA), my MP and my Mayor.

18. As for now, I’ll stick to dream for a mayoral election in KL.

19. Will this YB suggest so, if Selangor isn’t under Pakatan Rakyat controlled? Will he champion for KL sovereignty if one day DAP is no longer part of the Selangor state government? I guess KL is such a big sweet fruit that everyone seems wanting to grab and taste it.

Categories: Politics
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

